Please download the iOS and Android mobile app of JPEF

JPEF 2019 International Diabetes Convention Photos

7th JPEF Two-day Annual Global Diabetes Convention, 10th – 11th August 2019

The 7th Jothydev’s Professional Education Forum (JPEF) Annual Diabetes two-day convention was inaugurated by Dr. Cherian Varghese (Acting Director, Non-Communicable Diseases(NCD), World Health Organization(WHO), Geneva). Around 120 faculty from across the world including Australia, England, Egypt, Canada, Oman, Singapore etc. and from various parts of India lectured at the two-day convention held at Hotel Uday Samudra, Kovalam, Trivandrum. More than 950 delegates including doctors, dietitians, diabetes educators etc. participated in the two-day convention.

Diabetes is a priority NCD for WHO. It is affecting the developing world in epidemic proportion. In India, it is estimated that close to 75 million subjects are affected with diabetes. The onset of diabetes now occurs at an early age with more and more children being fed with food rich in saturated fats, carbonated beverages, and with no focus on daily exercise. More aggressive and structured educational activities are still required for prevention of diabetes and its complications. Diabetes affects individuals irrespective of their education and financial status. Not even 10% of patients accept scientific modality of treatment. The vast majority succumb to kidney disease, heart attack and foot ulcers before they realise the significance of seriously treating the disease increasing the treatment cost by several folds.

The two-day convention witnessed the launch of a new concept - The Diabetes Fashion Show which saw diabetes patients walking the ramp proving that ‘It’s not ugly; diabetes is fashionable’. Subjects with diabetes and treating team consisting of doctors, nurses, dietitians, pharmacists and psychologists from various parts of India participated in the fashion show.

Dr.Nanditha Arun ( Dr.A.Ramachandran’s Hospital, Chennai) bagged the JPEF P.Kesavadev Young Researcher Award for diabetes worth Rs. 1 lakh. Dr. Parameswaran Ramakrishnan( Cleveland Clinic, USA) and Dr.Nishanth Dev ( AIMS, New Delhi) won prizes for best research abstracts. Dr.Sijo Jose (Gokulam Medical College, Trivandrum) won the best poster award.

JPEF 2019 International Diabetes Convention Awards

Dr.Nanditha Arun (Dr.A.Ramachandran’s Hospital, Chennai) bagged the JPEF P.Kesavadev Young Researcher Award for diabetes worth Rs. 1 lakh.
Dr.Parameswaran Ramakrishnan, M.Sc, Ph.D. (Cleveland Clinic, USA) won first prize for the best original research.
Dr.Sijo Jose (Sree Gokulam Medical College, Trivandrum) won the best poster award.


7th JPEF Two-Day Annual Global Diabetes Convention offered a platform for Modern medicine doctors, Dietitians, Researchers and Allied healthcare professionals to present their original scientific research conducted in the field of diabetes.

Dr. Parameswaran Ramakrishnan and Dr.Nishanth Dev won prizes for best research abstracts. Dr.Sijo Jose won the best poster award.


Dr.Gary Kilov
Dr.Pratik Choudhary
(United Kingdom)
Dr.Santhosh Koshy
Dr.Hossam Arafa Ghazi
Dr.Raveendran A.V
Dr.Parameswaran Ramakrishnan


Dr.Anjana Ranjit Mohan
Dr. Anoop Misra
Dr.Ashok Kumar Das
Dr.Arvind Gupta
Dr.Aravind S.R
Dr.Banshi Saboo
Dr. Binayak Sinha
Dr.Bhargav Sosale
Dr.Brij Mohan Makkar
Dr.Deepak K.Jumani
Dr.Dhruvi Hasnani
Dr.Dharini Krishnan
Dr.Georgi Abraham
Dr.Hardik Chandarana
Dr.Harshal Ekatpure
Dr.Harsh Parekh
Dr.Hemant Thacker
Dr.Jayant Panda
Ms.Jazz Sethi
Dr.Kalyan Kumar Gangopadhyay
Dr.Mukherjee J.J
Dr.Purvi Chawla
Dr.Rajeev Chawla
Dr.Rajiv Kovil
Ms.Ruby Sound
Dr.Shaukat M. Sadikot
Dr.Shashank Joshi
Dr.Samit Ghosal
Dr.Shalini Jaggi
Dr.Sheryl Salis
Dr.Tejas Shah
Dr.A.G Unnikrishnan


Dr.Ajayakumar S, Adimali

Dr.Ajith Kumar P.V, Trivandrum

Dr.Ajith Kumar S, Trivandrum

Dr.Amrithlal P, Kollam

Dr.Anand Pillai, Trivandrum

Dr.Aneesh Ghosh, Trivandrum

Dt. Annie Ajai, Kochi

Dr.Anitha Nambiar S, Kochi

Dr.Arun Shankar, Trivandrum

Dr.Arun S Menon, Kochi

Dr. Ashwin David Ashok, Trivandrum

Dr. Balachandran K, Trivandrum

Dr. Balagopal P.G, Kochi

Dr.Balakrishnan Valliyot, Kannur

Dr.Beena Unnikrishnan, Trivandrum

Dr.Benny P. V, Trivandrum

Dr.Chacko Varghese, Trivandrum

Dr.Devin Prabhakar, Trivandrum

Dr.Geetha M Nair, Trivandrum

Dt.Geethu Sanal, Trivandrum

Ms.Gopika Krishnan, Trivandrum

Dr.Harish Kumar G, Pala

Dr.Hari K, Kochi

Dr.Harikrishnan S, Trivandrum

Dr. Harikrishnan R, Trivandrum

Dr. Jabbar P.K, Trivandrum

Dr. Jayakrishnan B, Tirur

Dr. Jayakumar C, Trivandrum

Dr. Jayakumari C, Trivandrum

Dr.Jayalekshmi R.Kurup, Kochi

Dr.Jayaprakash P, Kochi

Dr.Johnny Kannampilly, Kochi

Dr.Jose Ukken, Thrissur

Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev, Trivandrum

Dr.Kurian Xavier

Dr.Madhu N, Paravoor

Dr.Madhusudanan S, Trivandrum

Dr.Manikandan G.R, Trivandrum

Dr.Mathew Thomas, Trivandrum

Dr.Mathew Jacob, Kottarakara

Dr.Mohan Varghese, Thiruvalla

Dr.Mohanan Nair, Trivandrum

Dr.Parvathy L, Kochi

Dr.Parameswari S, Kochi

Dr.Prasanna Kumar T, Kochi

Dr.Prasanth Sankar, Pathanamthitta

Dr.Rajalakshmi Arjun, Trivandrum

Dr.Rajalakshmy S, Trivandrum

Dr.Raj Mohan L, Trivandrum

Dr.Rafiq Mohammed, Kochi

Dr.Ramesan Pillai, Trivandrum

Dr.Rohit Warrier, Kochi

Dr.Roy R. Chandran, Alappuzha

Dr.Riyaz I, Trivandrum

Dr.Sabeer A. Rasheed, Trivandrum

Dr.Santhosh K. R, Trivandrum

Dr.Sandeep R, Trivandrum

Dr.Seenaj Chandran, Kochi

Dr.Shiji P. V, Calicut

Dr.Sreejith N. Kumar, Trivandrum

Dr.Sreekumar R. C, Trivandrum

Dr.Sreenivasa Kammath, Kochi

Dr.Sunil Prasobh P, Trivandrum

Ms.Sunitha Jothydev, Trivandrum

Dr.Sumesh Raj, Trivandrum

Dr.Thankam D, Trivandrum

Dr.Thomas Paul, Angamaly

Dr.Thomas Titus, Trivandrum

Dr.Thushanth Thomas, Trivandrum

Dr.Vasudevan Potty, Trivandrum

Dr.Vijayakumar G, Pandalam

JPEF Organising Committee

Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev, Organising Secretary
Dr.Arun Shankar, Organising Chairman
Ms.Gopika Krishnan, Chief Organiser
Dr.Ashwin David, Joint Organising Secretary
Dr.Rohit Warrier, Convenor, Scientific Committee

Ms.Sunitha Jothydev, Conference Director
Dt.Geethu Sanal, Convenor, Nutrition Stream
Mr.Prasad H, Convenor, Logistics
Ms.Kavitha Vinu, Convenor, Housing

JPEF Award Committee

Chairperson: Dr.Georgi Abraham
Members: Dr.Ashok Kumar Das, Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev

Scientific Abstracts Committee

Chairperson: Dr. Raveendran A.V
Members: Dr.Sumesh Raj, Dr.Rohit Warrier, Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev, Ms.Gopika Krishnan

National Scientific Committee

Dr.Shashank Joshi, Mumbai

Dr.A.Muruganathan, Tirupur

Dr.Banshi Saboo, Ahmedabad

Dr.Brij Mohan Makkar, New Delhi

Dr.Anuj Maheshwari, Lucknow

Dr.Anjana Ranjit Mohan, Chennai

Dr.Rajiv Kovil, Mumbai

Local Scientific Committee

Dr.Anitha Nambiar S, Kochi

Dr.Chandni R, Calicut

Dr.Mathew John, Trivandrum

Dr.Johnny Kannampilly, Kochi

Dr.Mohanan Nair, Trivandrum

Dr.Anand Pillai, Trivandrum

Local Organising Committee

Dr.Benny P. V, Trivandrum

Dr.Jayakrishnan B, Tirur

Dr.Roy R Chandran, Alleppey

Dr.Sabeer A Rasheed, Trivandrum

Dr.Radhakrishnan A. P, Palakkad

Dr.Jayalekshmi R.Kurup, Kochi

Dr. Sunil Prasobh P, Trivandrum

Dr.Ajith Kumar S, Trivandrum


Dr.Madhusoodanan - Trivandrum, Dr.Shaukat M. Sadikot - Mumbai, Dr.Satish Garg - USA